Adams Oshiomhole and three Nigeria governors on US Visa ban list has emerged.

OnyxNews Nigeria reports that Kano State governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, and Kogi governor, Yahaya Bello, are on US Visa ban list.

OnyxNews Nigeria

Like Governor Bello and Governor Ganduje, a former governor of Edo State who was a National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, Nigeria’s ruling party, Adams Oshiomhole, is among top Nigerians on the US Visa ban list which was released on Monday by the United States Government.

Similarly, Governor Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna, northern Nigeria, on a different part, had his own visa ban extended. He has been banned from entering the US since 2010 over a graft case.

US officials said, more Nigerian politicians may be added on the visa ban list after the Edo governorship election scheduled for September 19 if they are involved in electoral malpractice.

Those affected by the recent US Visa ban list have received notification by email and or text messages.

A statement issued on Monday by a spokesperson for the Department of State, Morgan Ortagus, said those issued visa bans received the sanction for undermining democracy in Nigeria

The statement reads thus, “In July 2019, we announced the imposition of visa restrictions on Nigerians who undermined the February and March 2019 elections. Today, the Secretary of State is imposing additional visa restrictions on individuals for their actions surrounding the November 2019 Kogi and Bayelsa states elections and in the run up to the September and October 2020 Edo and Ondo states elections.

“These individuals have so far operated with impunity at the expense of the Nigerian people and have undermined democratic principles.

“The Department of State emphasises that the actions announced today are specific to certain individuals and not directed at the Nigerian people. This decision reflects the Department of State’s commitment to working with the Nigerian Government to realise its expressed commitment to end corruption and strengthen democracy, accountability, and respect for human rights,” the statement added.

Facebook Comments