OnyxNews Nigeria reports that the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) has said that the visa clearance requirement policy is only applicable for eight countries.

The agency was reacting to reports that it introduced a levy as visa clearance requirement for Nigerians travelling abroad.

NDLEA’s Director of Media and Advocacy, Femi Babafemi, said in a statement that the policy has been in existence for 24 years, its not new.

Babafemi also said that the requirement is only applicable to people travelling to eight countries, and is part of efforts to address drug trafficking.

The countries are:

1. Thailand

2. Malaysia

3. Indonesia

4. India

5. Brazil

6. Pakistan

7. Philippines

8. Russia.

READ FG To Make COVID-19 Vaccination Certificate Compulsory Requirement To Travel

Explaining further, Babafemi said in the statement: “The anti-drug law enforcement agency wishes to state as follows: that the policy was not newly created to impose levies on Nigerians travelling abroad, but has been in existence for over 24 years.

“The policy does not apply to all Nigerians seeking to travel overseas but only those travelling to eight countries, usually referred to as source countries.

“The policy is at the behest of the ‘source countries’, and not that of the NDLEA or Nigeria. It’s designed as part of global efforts to fight the menace of drug trafficking.

“The requirements for the visa clearance being mischievously circulated on social media are just a part of a three-page document, which provides other detailed information on the policy.

“Nigerians can rest assured that NDLEA remains committed to its core goal of ridding Nigeria of illicit drugs and will not deviate from its constitutionally assigned duties,” Babafemi said.


Facebook Comments