Connect with us


JUST IN: First 2023 Presidential Election Result Emerges



JUST IN: First 2023 Presidential Election Result Emerges

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) commenced the 2023 general elections at exactly 8:30 am. amid tight security on Saturday, February 25, 2023.

Nigerians are voting from a list of eighteen (18) Presidential candidates and four thousand, two hundred and twenty-three (4,223) National Assembly candidates, who are contesting for four hundred and sixty-nine (469) federal legislative positions.


No fewer than eighteen (18) political parties are participating in the 2023 general elections. However, some would not be fielding candidates for the position of president. This is less than the 91 political parties that participated in the 2019 general elections.

According to the figures recently released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), there are currently 93,469,008 Registered Voters but 87,209,007 voters out of the 93,469,008 registered voters have collected their Permanent Voters Cards (PVCs) and would be expected to vote in the 2023 general elections compared to 84,004,084 in the 2019 general elections.

The main contenders in terms of political parties are the All Progressives Congress, APC, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, the Labour Party, LP, and of course, the New Nigerian Peoples Party, NNPP.


Bola Ahmed Tinubu is the presidential candidate of the ruling APC, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar is flying the flag of the PDP, former Anambra State Governor, Peter Obi is the candidate of the LP, while Rabiu Kwankwaso is the NNPP standard bearer.

In the build-up to the elections. Bola Tinubu of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Nigeria’s main opposition party, Peter Obi of the Labour Party (LP) and Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), have popped up clearly as top contenders for the office of the president.

Live updates of the official Presidential and National Assembly election results as announced by INEC officials at the various polling units.


Voting has ended in most polling units across Nigeria.

The presidential candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) Asiwaju Bola Tinubu has won his polling unit in Lagos. He defeated the Peoples Democratic Party presidential candidate (PDP), Atiku Abubakar, and other candidates in his polling unit.

Tinubu voted at Ward 3, Polling Unit 85, Alausa, Ikeja, Lagos State, Nigeria’s commercial city, around 10:20am. The total number of accredited voters is 43, while the polling unit had 324 registered voters.


The former Lagos governor polled 33 votes, while PDP got one vote. Labour Party got 8 votes while YPP had one vote.

Facebook Comments




Today’s Update

February 2023


Copyright © 2023 Onyxnews Nigeria